MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ROSELLE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 BOARD OF EDUCATION April 25, 2023

The regular meeting of the Board of Education was held on April 25, 2023 at the Village of Roselle Council Chambers. Board President McGowan called the meeting to order at 7:07 p.m.

I. Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: James McGowan, Kim

Duris, Chris Humbert, Steve Zurek

Absent: None

A. Pledge of Allegiance

The Board and audience said the Pledge of Allegiance.

B. Additions or Changes to the Agenda

Remove Exception 5ILCS 120/2(c)(9) from Closed Session

C. Communications

None

II. Visitor Input

The following community members addressed the board and audience:
None

III. Accept Canvas of Votes from April 4, 2023

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Vice-President Duris to accept the Canvas of Votes from the April 4, 2023 election.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Kim Duris, James McGowan, Chris Humbert

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None The motion carried.

IV. Election of Temporary Officers

Motion by Vice-President Duris and seconded by Member Humbert that the Board appoint Dr. Mary Henderson as President Pro Tem and Mrs. JoAnn Dumelle as Secretary Pro Tem.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

V. Oath of Office

New Board Members Lydia Galante, Sheryl LeVine and Victoria Tiberi recited the Oath of Office.

VI. Board Reorganization

A. Roll Call of Board Members

Upon roll call, the following board members answered: James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi, Steve Zurek

B. Establishment of Term of Office

Motion by Member Humbert and seconded by Secretary Galante that the Board establish a one-year term of office for President, Vice-President and Secretary of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Chris Humbert, Lydia Galante, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

C. President Pro Tem Henderson asked for nominees for President of the Board of Education

Motion by Member Duris and seconded by Member Humbert that the Board elect James McGowan as President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

D. Election of the Vice-President of the Board of Education

Motion by Member Humbert and seconded by President McGowan that the Board elect Kim Duris as Vice-President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Chris Humbert, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

E. Election of the Secretary of the Board of Education

Motion by President McGowan and seconded by Member Zurek that the Board elect Lydia Galante as Secretary of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: James McGowan, Steve Zurek, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert, Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

F. Approve Board Meeting Dates for 2023-2024

Motion by Member Humbert and seconded by Secretary Galante that the Board approve the regular meeting dates for 2023-2024 as presented.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Chris Humbert, Lydia Galante, James McGowan, Kim Duris, Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

VII. Closed Session

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Vice-President Duris that the board move to Closed Session at 7:20 p.m. pursuant to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(10) The placement of individual students in special education programs and other matters relating to individual students with no action to be taken.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Kim Duris, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert,

Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

VIII. Return to Open Session

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Vice-President Duris to return to Open Session at 8:54 p.m.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Kim Duris, James McGowan, Lydia Galante, Chris Humbert,

Sheryl LeVine, Victoria Tiberi

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

IX.	Adi	iourn	ment
./	, ,,	<u> </u>	

Motion by President McGowan and seconded by Member Humbert to adjourn the meeting at 8:55 p.m.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: James McGowan, Chris Humbert, Kim Duris, Lydia Galante, Sheryl Levine

Victoria Tiberi, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

James McGowan, President
Lydia Galante, Secretary

Date Approved: May 16, 2023